1st and 2nd Draft Evaluation.

After completing my first and second draft’s of the front cover for my magazine I decided that I liked aspects on both drafts more than others. Firstly, on my first draft I preferred the overall layout of the magazine as I felt it looked more professional and more visually appealing. I also preferred that there was a mixture of two different font types in the coverlines, as I thought this looked more interesting than just using one font type. Another advantage of my first draft, is that I preferred the colour scheme used as I thought it matches the rest of the layout well. However, I preferred the main image used on the second draft and used with my colour scheme from the first draft I believe it would look a lot better. I also preferred how the barcode and price were laid out on the second draft.

I then collected two peer evaluations to help further my understanding of what magazine layout people thought was better;

Peer evaluation 1: Overall I preferred the first draft more than the second, firstly the font used on the first draft I thought looked a lot more professional and the layout of the coverlines was better. Also I preferred the insert of a heart used on the first draft as I think it matched the masthead better than the insert used on the second draft. Lastly, I preferred the colour scheme of the pinks and reds over the browns and purples used on the second draft. However, I thought the image on the second draft would match the colour scheme better than the main image used on the first draft. I also preferred that the insert of a heart on the masthead was in a different colour on the second draft, this made it stand out more and look nicer. Lastly, I preferred the layout of the barcode and price on the second draft as it was easier to see.

Peer evaluation 2:

Leave a Reply

